Biography Discography Media Instruments Pictures Links
Home Deutsch
Spring of Youth / Earth & Man
Sound Design Records / Japan

Sound Design Records / Japan

Year of release:



Most websites name this LP "Portopia'81 / Portpier Matsushita Kan". But the right name is "Spring of Youth / Earth & Man". The story behind this release: in 1981 the exposition "Kobe Port Island Exposition" (short: Portopia '81') was held in the city of Kobe/Japan. There were several pavilions in which big japanese companies sponsored exhibitions. Kitaro created the music for the exhibition of Matsushita (Panasonic). Probably somebody outside of Japan didn't understand the japanese signs on the cover and took the name of the exposition for the whole album.
45 RPM single (in LP size), distributed in Japan only, the record was never published as a CD.

Other releases:

Track list:

Side A

  1. Spring of Youth / Earth & Man
    - Prologue (プロローグ)
    - Big Bang (宇宙創成) ~ Planet Formation (地球生成) ~ Development of Civilizations (文明の發達)
    - Revival of Oriental Philosophy (東洋哲學の復活)
    - Expectations for Science (科學への期待) ~ Hymn to Youth (青春讚歌)
    - Epilogue (エピローグ)

Side B

  1. Suite 2025
    - Solar Energy (太陽エネルギー)
    - Return (回歸)
    - Youth (青春)

My opinion:

The two songs are very typical for Kitaro's sound at that time.